Discovering hope!

Hello world! I’ve decided that I ought to start blogging about my journey through plant-based foods as a type 1 diabetic. My progressive results have been extremely hopeful and I am inspired to share my experiences so that I may hopefully inspire and support others’ journeys.

Just to clarify, I am a type 1 diabetic (which means my pancreas no longer makes insulin) and I’ve been so for 18 years. Type 2 diabetes is the more common type these days, and anytime you hear someone talk about diabetes, nine times out of ten, they are referring to type 2. The general public typically does not know the difference between the two, which can be very irritating.

Anyways, I’m sure I’ll post more on this in the future (especially on the preposterous claims that type 1 is curable with diet- which it is not! Only type 2 diabetics have the means to reverse and wean themselves off of medications). Insulin to me is like water- I will always need it to survive. However, I do believe diet (especially now!)can heal the body in extraordinary ways, and decrease the amount of insulin that it’s dependent upon.
The last two weeks, I have taken coffee, meat, and dairy out of my diet. I was eating generally healthy before, but my sugar levels were not in control (generally ranging from 180-300), I was often fatigued (which I tried to combat with coffee), and I felt an overall sense of poor health. I did try eating as low carb as possible, even tried following Dr Richard K Bernstein’s diet (which worked for my levels but left me feeling very unhealthy and hungry).

My goal on this blog Is to record what I eat, recipes, and a general overview of what the raw vegan lifestyle has accomplished for my health. Please share your experiences- we can all learn from each other.

To our health!

Leave a Reply

