A bump in the road…

Today has been a rough day. My sugar levels have been amazing for the past two weeks of eating raw vegan, but last night I got myself into trouble. Tonight is a holiday potluck at my friend, Julie’s house. I wanted to bring a yummy raw dessert and decided on making a chocolate strawberry mousse pie. Now, typically I only use Stevia when I create something sweet for myself, but I wanted to save the amount I had left and also please the palates of the guests, so I used a combo of soaked dates and raw honey. Well, while creating this lovely pie, I was taking taste tests to make sure it was turning out right (bad idea). All the itty bitty tastes definitely added up and spiked my sugar level. As any seasoned type 1 diabetic knows, once your sugar is spiked, it’s difficult to return to balance without going on a roller-coaster ride. I’m trying to ease it down with small amounts of insulin but it’s been in the low 200s since last night. This of course has given me a depressed and negative attitude for most of the day. I’m reminding myself however that I am actually doing a really good job and this is just a bump in the road.

Today I had a green smoothie made with spinach, a little leftover kale, Stevia, a couple spoonfuls of Greek yogurt, nutiva hemp protein powder, and half a small apple with a small handful of walnuts on the side.

For lunch I ate a large spinach salad with cherry tomatoes, 1/2 avocado, green pepper, a few baby carrots, sunflower seeds, flax oil, sea salt, and apple cider vinegar.

I have not tested my post lunch blood sugar reading yet,…so I am about to do so and will let you know what I end up with. ((drumroll….))

88! What a relief…!

With perseverance all things are possible. 🙂

To our health!

Leave a Reply

