Raw Tacos!

Raw tacos!
I used Swiss chard leaves and purple cabbage as the ‘tortilla’ shell.

For the ‘meat’ I threw walnuts, cumin, cayenne, garlic, sea salt, olive oil, sun-dried tomatoes, red bell pepper, and grape tomatoes.  Topped with tomatoes, diced chayote,  fresh guacamole and corn.

6 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by K on March 8, 2011 at 8:20 am

    whats inside? looks deeelishhh!

    Reply

  2. Posted by K on March 8, 2011 at 8:21 am

    i love using greens as taco shells/wraps!

    Reply

  3. Yum. We eat a lot of raw foods but still have not tried to make raw taco meat. I may attempt it soon.

    Reply

    • Posted by justbyjen on March 8, 2011 at 12:06 pm

      Yeah! I love mexican style dishes….and there are plenty of ideas on the internet- the boundless recipe resource! 🙂
      Thanks for stopping by! 🙂

      Reply

  4. HI!! Stopping by from Color Wheel Meals!! Thanks for sharing your blog!!!
    I am so interested in reading about how eating raw can help diabetes…even though no one in my family deals with it (Thank God)…I do have a friend that has it so bad that she constantly wears an insulin pump and the needle is in her stomach and somehow monitors her levels and gives her insulin throughout the day….she is always saying that fruit is too much sugar for her…I would love to be informed as to how to help her!!!

    Reply

    • Posted by justbyjen on March 8, 2011 at 12:06 pm

      Hey There-
      Thanks for stopping by!
      I’ve been on the pump before and I hated the experience. Many people love the convenience of just touching a button, but I prefer shots!
      I didn’t like being attached to a machine.
      Fruit is something you just have to be careful with… avoiding high glycemic fruits (like oranges, pineapple, mango, bananas, dates) and sticking with low glycemic (berries, apples, lemons, limes) is smart.
      Occasionally I will put half a banana in a smoothie, or have a couple pieces of pineapple, etc. But if I do eat them, it’s in very small portions.
      Let her know about my blog! Maybe she will find a yummy recipe to try! 🙂

      Reply

Leave a Reply

